Armenian St. Gregory of Narek declared Doctor of the Universal Church

St Gregory of Narek

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today is a great day for Armenian Christian believers. Their beloved mystical poet St. Gregory of Narek (Grigor Narekatsi – 951-1003) was declared by Pope Francis Doctor of the Universal Church, in the St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome, in the presence of all heads of Armenian Orthodox and Catholic Churches, following a decision made on 21 February during an audience of Pope Francis with Cardinal Georgio Amato, Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints.The important church event was reflected HERE in the official Armenian press.

The cult of St. Gregory of Narek will be marked on 27 February in the Roman Martyrology. He will be defined as “monk, doctor of the Armenians, distinguished for his writings and mystic science”.

St. Gregory, a priest and monk, was born circa 950 AD in Andzevatsik (formerly Armenia, present-day Turkey) to a family of writers. He died circa 1005 in Narek (formerly Armenia, present-day Turkey). His father, Khosrov, was an archbishop. Having lost his mother at a young age, Gregory was brought up by his cousin, Anania of Narek, founder of the local school and village. The saint lived most of his life in the monasteries of Narek (in what was once called Great Armenia), where he taught at the monastic school. He is considered one of Armenian literature’s greatest poets. (Source, HERE.)

You may watch at the link below the wonderful liturgy dedicated to St Gregory of Nerek, and to the commemoration of the Armenian genocide (1915), when 1.5 Million Armenians were killed by the Turks.

* * *

St. Grigor Narekatsi, Speaking with God from the Depth of the Heart

I have become acquainted with the mystical poetry to St. Gregory of Narek during my many visits in Armenia. I have also received there, and I really treasure in my library a bilingual volume with his work, St. Grigor Narekatsi, Speaking with God from the Depth of the Heart.

I share with you here, as an example, Prayer 95 from this collection.

* * *

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sun of Justice
ray of blessings
form of light,
cherished desire,
exalted beyond understanding,
mighty beyond telling,
joy of goodness,
hope realised
praised by heaven,
king of glory,
Christ creator,
life proclaimed,

Finish, I pray,
the meanderings
of my wretched, errant voice
with your own mighty words.

Help me to polish
a pleasing prayer,
to bring before your Father on high.

You who took on my likeness
submitting for my sake to trial and condemnation,
take pity on me.

You who blessed all life,
God of Goodness,
who provides all things above and below,
who was willing to die for me,
God and lord of all,
who has borne the pangs of mortal flesh,
take pity on me,
for I am wrecked with pain.

Take pity on me,
stay with me, a wretched sinner
and pray with me to our Father,
your equal in glory.

Amen!

* * *

You may find HERE the entire collection of prayers by St. Gregory of Nerek.

 

 

 

Author: DanutM

Anglican theologian. Former Director for Faith and Development Middle East and Eastern Europe Region of World Vision International

Leave a comment