Richard Rohr – Truth Is A Relationship, not An Idea

On retreat I once wrote in my journal, “How good of you, God, to make truth a relationship instead of an idea. Now there is room between you and me for growth, for conversation, for exception, for the infinite understandings created by intimacy, for the possibility to give back and to give something to You—as if I could give anything back to You.

“You offer me the possibility to undo, to please, to apologize, to change, to surrender, and to grow. There’s room for stages and for suffering, for mutual passion and mutual pity. There’s room for mutual everything.” This is good religion, worthy of free, intelligent, and mature people!

From Things Hidden: Scripture as Spirituality, p. 6

Author: DanutM

Anglican theologian. Former Director for Faith and Development Middle East and Eastern Europe Region of World Vision International

4 thoughts on “Richard Rohr – Truth Is A Relationship, not An Idea”

  1. Nice and concise. It is not me and Jesus only, or me and myself. It is the gap in between which can only be filled in the presence of the other.

    Like

Leave a comment