How I Do Research: Prof. Helen Bond (Gupta)

Some useful suggestions for those who do academic research. In theology, in particular.

Crux Sola

Helen Bond Reflects on JesusWe continue with our series: “How I Do Research.” I am very pleased to present to you the interview I conducted with Prof. Helen Bond of the Univ. of Edinburgh. Prof. Bond has numerous important books including Pontius Pilate in History and Interpretation (SNTSMS, 1998), Caiaphas: Friend of Rome and Judge of Jesus? (2004), and she has written dozens of academic essays.

How do you approach research as a whole? Do you have a big-picture strategy? Do your research all at once, and then write? Do you do some sketching and reflecting on paper and then dig into research? Do you go back and forth?

 I have a variety of approaches, depending on the project. If I’m asked to write a chapter on a specific topic (say for a collection of some kind), I’d probably do all my reading first, gradually outlining a plan in my head. Then, at some point (usually close to the deadline!), I’d write it all up within the given word length…

View original post 1,041 more words

Leave a Reply

