An Open Letter to Amnesty International Leadership

Amnesty International

I have unsubscribed today from your newsletters and from this day on I will stop supporting Amnesty International.
I cannot support an organisation that pretends to defend human rights (as it did, up to this point), but became a defendant of pimps and and a promoter of prostitution. I am afraid this is only the beginning of a slippery slope. What will you defend and promote tomorrow: infanticide? or paedophilia?
Of course, your organisation may defend whatever you decide. I can understand. We all need money. Many organisations, so to say, have ‘sold their soul to the devil’ for this. And of course, you can manipulate the facts to defend your position, as anybody without moral scruples would do.
You are free to do to it, too. But we are also free to move away and find more suitable causes and organisations to defend, ones that manifest integrity and high moral values, in their work.
As for you, I think you should be ashamed of your planned change of policy. And I hope many more people will stop supporting you, as I do now.
I am deeply disappointed. I hope you will wake up and return to defending the rights of the weak and the marginalised, not the interests of the most profitable criminal business on earth: human trafficking.
Dr. Danut Manastireanu
Iasi Romania

One thought on “An Open Letter to Amnesty International Leadership

Leave a Reply

