All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Evangelicalism | Matthew Milliner | First Things

All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Evangelicalism | Matthew Milliner | First Things.

Although, as a high-church Anglican, I still consider myself an evangelical, well, to be fair, in fact more a (post)evangelical, I cannot say, like Milliner, in this article, that ‘all I really need to know I learned from evangelicalism’. In fact, it was my deep encounter with Eastern Orthodoxy that helped me discover the historical roots of Christianity and its liturgical and sacramental dimensions, to list just the most important reasons that led me to mainline Protestantism.

I surely never became an Orthodox, and probably never will, as I am, structurally and fundamentally, a Protestant. Yet, as an ecumenical Christian, my catholic and orthodox (small ‘c’ and small ‘o’) identity is stronger that my particular denominational identity, as important as that may be for me.

Anyway, wherever you find yourself on the denominational puzzle, you may benefit from reading Milliner’s article.

One thought on “All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Evangelicalism | Matthew Milliner | First Things

Leave a Reply

