Rev. Joel Hunter: A Western Reading of Scripture

Rev. Joel Carl Hunter (b.  April 18, 1948 in Shelby, Ohio), is ‘the senior pastor of Northland, A Church Distributed, a congregation of 15,000 that worships at four sites in Central Florida’.

Author: DanutM

Anglican theologian. Former Director for Faith and Development Middle East and Eastern Europe Region of World Vision International

One thought on “Rev. Joel Hunter: A Western Reading of Scripture”

  1. I must confess I was not very impressed with the pomp associated with him name. The guy seemed to me quite average. I have no idea what criteria American Evangelicals use for greatness.

    Moreover, I was completely put off by the Rev. Hunter’s prayer he uttered at the end of Shireen Hillal’s great presentation. This prayer was a typical example of Western Evangelical misogyny and condescension towards women. I am sure it was totally unintended and in good faith, which, however, does not make it less harmful and guilty. May God forgive him, for he knew not not what he did.

    Like

Leave a comment